For my Blurb book, I focused on taking close-up and macro photos of music equipment. I defined the term “music equipment” as loosely as possible. Though not much of a musician myself, I have always had a deep respect and passion for music of all kinds. Recently, my good friend and a great musician, James Page (no relation to the famous musician Jimmy Page), decided to build a recording studio in his garage. In addition to building an isolation booth in the middle of the room, we began collecting and purchasing as much audio equipment and instruments as humanly possible, including guitars, basses, banjos, mandolins, ukuleles, keyboards, pianos, microphones, drum pads, stereo systems, MIDI controllers, FX pedals, soundboards, studio monitors, amplifiers, cables, inputs and outputs, audio and video interfaces, and anything else we could get our hands on. Though the project is not yet finished, we hope to have the whole studio done by this Summer. Overall, this is one of my favorite non-video projects I’ve completed in my time here at CSUSM. Though they are closely related, I never had much of an interest in photography, focusing instead on video. However, this class and the Blurb project have greatly increased my interest in photography, though it still takes a backseat to video.

Blurb Book_Drew Stanford Cover

Blurb Book_Drew Stanford