Although I never knew much about him, I’ve always liked the few photos of Ansel Adams’ that I’ve seen (oddly in various dentist and doctors offices– something about landscapes must fascinate doctors’ decorators). Its been my understanding that he is the Ernest Hemingway of photography, in that he is an American icon that deals almost exclusively with America (with Hemingway it was where he set his novels and where the characters were from, with Adams its simply all he seemingly photographs). I liked the comparison one of the narrators made, that Adams is working with the same environment as others, but making more out of it like a poet does with the same dictionary everybody else uses. Although I like them, I can’t quite explain why, no obvious meaning or purpose jumps out at me. A person in the video mentions that he simply was concerned with showing the wilderness how he saw it, as grand and significant, “everlasting”. His photos make you feel small, but not unimportant. It makes you feel like a small part of a whole. His awe-inspiring photos are both relaxing due to there tranquility and intimidating due to there gigantic landscapes. His background in music is not surprising, considering how mathematic both music and photography are in terms of composition, mood, etc. Although normally, I prefer photos with more obvious depth of field due to my focus on video, I enjoy his for different, but similar reasons. His photos remind me of elaborate establishing shots in big budget Hollywood epics, trying to get the whole scenery while making it memorable and striking; one biographer even mentioned that the higher up he climbed, the better his photographs were. You could easily imagine an image like his being used to set up a scene in a movie, TV show, or even something like a comic book.